tea nomenclature and what each tea symbol means

Tea Nomenclature, what does that mean?

Tea nomenclature can vary depending on the origin, processing methods, and specific characteristics of the tea. Here are some common types of tea and their corresponding nomenclature:

  1. Green Tea: Green tea is made from unoxidized tea leaves. It is known for its fresh, vegetal flavors and vibrant green color. Examples include Sencha, Matcha, Gunpowder, and Dragon Well.

  2. Black Tea: Black tea is fully oxidized and has a robust, bold flavor profile. It is often enjoyed with milk and sugar. Popular black teas include Assam, Darjeeling, Earl Grey, Ceylon, and English Breakfast.

  3. Oolong Tea: Oolong tea is partially oxidized, falling between green and black teas in terms of flavor and appearance. It offers a wide range of flavors, from floral and fruity to toasty and nutty. Famous oolong teas include Tie Guan Yin, Dong Ding, and Da Hong Pao.

  4. White Tea: White tea is made from young tea buds and leaves that undergo minimal processing. It has a delicate flavor and subtle sweetness. Silver Needle and Bai Mu Dan are well-known varieties of white tea.

  5. Pu-erh Tea: Pu-erh tea is a fermented tea that can be either raw (sheng) or ripe (shou). It often undergoes aging, resulting in a unique earthy and mellow flavor. Pu-erh teas are typically labeled with the year of production and the region they come from.

  6. Herbal Tea: Herbal teas, also known as tisanes, are not made from the Camellia sinensis plant. Instead, they are infusions of various herbs, flowers, fruits, and spices. Examples include chamomile, peppermint, hibiscus, and rooibos.

  7. Flavored Tea: Flavored teas are teas that have been infused or blended with additional flavors, such as fruits, flowers, spices, or essential oils. Examples include jasmine green tea, bergamot-infused Earl Grey, and chai tea.

  8. Blended Tea: Blended teas are created by combining different types of teas or teas with other ingredients. These blends often aim to achieve specific taste profiles or unique combinations. Breakfast blends, afternoon teas, and specialty blends are common examples.

Brief guide to decoding the specifications that are shown on the website and on other sites:
  • FOP: Flowery Orange Pekoe
  • GFOP: Golden Flowery Orange Pekoe
  • PF: Pekoe Fannings
  • OP: Orange Pekoe
  • BOP: Broken Orange Pekoe
  • GBOP: Golden Broken Orange Pekoe
  • TGBOP: Tippy Golden Broken Orange Pekoe
  • GTGFBOP: Golden Tippy Golden Flowery Broken Orange Pekoe
  • BPS: Broken Pekoe Souchong
  • TGFOP: Tippy Golden Flowery Orange Pekoe
  • FTGFOP: Fine Tippy Golden Flowery Orange Pekoe
  • FTGFOP1: Fine Tippy Golden Flowery Orange Pekoe, grade 1
  • SFTGFOP1: Super Fine Tippy Golden Flowery Orange Pekoe, grade 1
  • Musc: Muscatel
  • Cl: Clonal
  • Ch: China varietal
  • Qu: Queen jat
  • FBOPF Ex Spl: Flowery Broken Orange Pekoe Fannings (Extra Special). Ceylon spider-leg style
Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.